Czech Economic Society and Slovak Economic Association Meeting

in cooperation with the Mendel University in Brno
and Hungarian Economic Association

Brno, September 11-13, 2019

The Slovak Economic Association and the Czech Economic Society are soliciting papers for their joint conference, to be held at the Mendel University in Brno (campus of Mendel University at the Faculty of Business and Economics), Czech Republic, September 11–13, 2019. The conference commemorates the 30th anniversary of the start of the economic transition of Visegrad countries (former Czechoslovakia, Hungary, and Poland) from centrally planned to market economies. Research papers from all fields of economics and finance are welcome.

Keynote speakers:

Submission Procedure:

Please submit a draft paper in pdf-format by June 15, 2019 via the conference system. Decisions about acceptance will be communicated by July 15, 2019. The conference will be held in English. Proposals for complete sessions dedicated to specific topics are also welcome. 


SEA Award for Young Economists:

The Slovak Economic Association will award a prize of 500 EUR to the best paper authored by economist(s) up to 35 years of age. In case of joint papers, all co-authors have to fulfil this condition. Only papers presented at the conference will be considered for the Award. Authors who wish to be considered for the SEA Award for Young Economists must indicate this in the submission process.



There is no registration fee but the participants will have to make their own arrangements for travel and accommodation.

You are also welcome to attend the conference as a non-presenting participant. In this case you can still take part in our scientific and social program, without presenting your own research.

All participants need to register via the form July 30, 2019 at the latest.

Presenters may be asked to serve as discussants. The organizers reserve the right to restrict the number of participants due to capacity constraints.

Contact Address:



The conference takes place on the campus of Mendel University in Brno at the Faculty of Business and Economics, building Q. Address: Zemedelska 1665/1, 613 00 Brno, Czech Republic. See the map and accommodation recommendations.




WEDNESDAY, 11th September 2019

18:00-18:30    Registration of participants
18:00-21:00    Welcome drink


THURSDAY, 12th September 2019                                               

  8:30-  9:00    Registration of participants

  9:00-10:30    Parallel Sessions I.

10:30-11:00    Coffee Break

11:00-12:00    Keynote Speaker - Paul de Grauwe

Behavioural Macroeconomics: A New Way to Think About the Macroeconomy

12:00-13:00    Lunch

13:00-14:30    Parallel Sessions II.

14:30-15:00    Coffee Break

15:00-16:30    Parallel Sessions III.

16:30-17:00    Coffee Break

17:00-18:30    Discussion Policy Panel

“Perspectives of European Economic Integration” chair: Paul de Grauwe


· Marek Mora, Deputy Governor of the Czech National Bank

· Lubos Pastor, Board Member of the National Bank of Slovakia

· Anna Trzecinska, Vice President of National Bank of Poland

· Szabolcs Fazakas, advisor to the Minister of the PM's Cabinet, Hungary

19:00-23:00    Social Reception

19:15              SEA Award for Young Economists


FRIDAY, 13th September 2019                                           

  8:30-  9:00    Registration of participants

  9:00-10:30    Parallel Sessions IV.

10:30-11:00    Coffee Break

11:00-12:00    Keynote Speaker - Ľuboš Pástor

Rational Backlash Against Globalization”, SSRN

12:00-13:00    Lunch

13:00-14:30    Parallel Sessions V.

14:30-15:00    Farewell drink


Scientific Committee

Svatopluk Kapounek (chair)

Mendel University in Brno

Jarko Fidrmuc

Zeppelin University in Friedrichshafen

Kamil Galuščák

Czech National Bank

Jan Hanousek

Charles University, CERGE-EI

Gyula Pleschinger

Magyar Nemzeti Bank

Martin Šuster

National Bank of Slovakia


Organizing Committee 

Hana Vránová (chair)

Mendel University in Brno

Eduard Baumöhl

University of Economics in Bratislava

Dominika Doubková

Mendel University in Brno

Hana Lipovská

Masaryk University

Barbora Šiklová

Mendel University in Brno

Tomáš Výrost

University of Economics in Bratislava

 The conference is co-financed by the Governments of Czechia, Hungary, Poland
and Slovakia through Visegrad Grants from International Visegrad Fund (project
“Visegrad Group Partnership of Economic Associations”). The mission of the fund
is to advance ideas for sustainable regional cooperation in Central Europe

1_CES-SEAM-2019_CfP.pdf (3.4.2019)

1_Practical Information.pdf (27.8.2019)

1_Conference programme.pdf (8.9.2019)

Presentation-Lubos Pastor.pdf (17.9.2019)

Presentation-Paul de Grauwe.pdf (17.9.2019)

The Czech Economic Society announces winners of the Young Economist of the Year Award

28.11.2019 18:43


Older news